Homemade Almond Milk

A fellow nursing momma told me her hubby liked his cereal with Breast Milk. Now, i’m all for BF past 12-months, but at 420-months it’s time to find an alternative. I think some homemade almond milk will taste just great with that cereal. To my friend who feeds her daughter AND hubby breast milk, this one’s for you.

Ingredients:

1 cup raw almonds

1 tsp sea salt (I use pink Himalayan salt)

1-2 tbsp sweetener of choice (I use coconut nectar, maple syrup, or honey)

Optional: 1 tsp vanilla extract

Here’s how:

Soak almonds overnight in plenty of fresh water in an airtight container in the fridge (preferably glass like a mason jar or a bowl with a lid).

Next day drain and rise almonds.

In a high-powered blender place almonds and 3-4 cups of water (depending on how “thick” you like your almond milk) I do about 3 1/2 cups of water.

Blend on high until liquified, then pass through a “nut bag” (not to be confused with “nut sac” > OMG is that totally immature, inappropriate, and so third grade?)…squeeze that nut sac hard bahahaha until all the liquid runs dry.

[Tip: you can keep the leftover almond “meal” lay it flat onto an oven pan and bake at 350F until golden brown, about 15mins, then pulse it in the blender and use as a GF flour alternative when cooking – or you can dump it :)].

Place liquid back in the blender, add salt and sweetener of choice, blend and enjoy!

Ps – You can always add more salt and sweetener, or vanilla extract to give it more flavor, but it should come out rich and delicious. It keeps in the fridge for about 4 days, but honestly never lasts that long!

I use it in smoothies and with cereal at night (because it would be weird if I used my own Breast Milk, and even if I wanted to I couldn’t possibly pump that much extra milk. I don’t even know how my friend does it).

Sometimes I add some shredded coconut before I blend the first time to make it a coconut-almond milk, or as you can see in the picture below I’m soaking half almonds and half cashews for a cashew/almond milk…There’s infinite possibilities!
Finished product! So rich and creamy. Once you get the hang of it you won’t ever want to drink store-bought almond milk again – promise!

This blog pressed using Tinydesk

Leave a Reply

